Where Have I Been!?

I’ve been absent. Many may have thought I just packed it in with how silent I was during the 2014 season. To be honest, I’m superstitious. There were many a time I sat down to fill you all in on the progress of my season, or to divulge my feelings on a race or my training, however quickly saved my progress and failed to upload my thoughts for all of you to read. Why? I felt as though, somehow, my thoughts and feelings towards my season at any given point would alter the course and direction of the rest of my season to come! Aside from short blurbs on Facebook or Twitter, I have not exactly shared and filled you all in on my journey this year, although with this website, that was my intention! So, here’s a short recap, with race videos and some thoughts on my 2014 season..

Out of the cold & into the sun!
March-April training camp in Gainesville, Florida.

IMG_1956

University of South Florida
Florida Relays
Mt Sac Relays

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

American Track League:
Indiana, Virginia, & Atlanta

IMG_2325   IMG_2294   IMG_2334

World Relay Championships!
Pre-competition training camp in Orlando. The fans were loud, the track was fast, and the overall competition was something I will not soon forget.

IMG_2377 IMG_2342   IMG_2362 IMG_2353

Last Chance at the University of Guelph:
At this point, with it being my last opportunity to run standard, and being half a second from that standard, I wasn’t discouraged, but remained confident in my abilities. It was shortly before I began warming up for the race, I was speaking to one of my competitors, about our training, how our seasons were going, and about the upcoming race, and I’m very thankful for this impromptu conversation. Kate said something to me that came at a really important time: She said she planned on just going out, racing, and having fun. She really made me stop and think right in that moment, right before I was about to prepare my mind and body to race, that yes, racing should be fun. Racing IS fun, it always has been to me. But, as athletes, and the need to make standards in order to qualify for certain competitions, we start chasing numbers and build up all this pressure instead of just having fun. I told myself in that moment (well I guess Kate kind of told me), to just go have fun. I ran a season’s best 56.47, and ran the Commonwealth Games standard on the last qualifying day.

GuelphMay31

I was more than relieved when I saw my name listed among the 50 athletes chosen to represent Canada in Glasgow, Scotland later in the season. However, work was not done, and nationals were at the end of the month. However, I raced one last time, in Toronto, as a tune up before the championships.

Nationals:
One of my goals this season was to defend my title of national champion, and what an exciting race it was! I was pleased with my time of 56.67, and pleased with my win!

IMG_2491  IMG_2537

Commonwealth Games: Glasgow, Scotland!
My goal was to race four times around the Hampden Park track, four 400m races in as many days. I usually block all the crowd noise out during a race and am focused solely on my lane and my ten hurdles, however, coming off the final corner (hurdle 8), and onto the homestretch, I started to hear the roar of the crowd and felt their energy, and had a split second to think to myself, “Wow, this is fun!” Anything can happen in the hurdles, and after two disqualifications, I finished fifth! Our relay team also finished fifth to help cap off a very successful Commonwealth Games showing for Canada.

glasgowhurdles  relay

Encore!
Before I headed home to Canada, I took a quick trip to Copenhagen, Denmark for my final race (starts at 2:25) of the season. I went with something completely different from what I had been doing all season, as I had nothing to lose. It sure paid off as I crossed the line in first with a new personal best of 55.81 seconds!

Final note of thanks..
I wouldn’t be able to continue along this journey without the endless support and encouragement I’ve been given. The added generosity I’ve received has allowed me to continue to train at a high level and compete on the international stage while representing my country!

I owe a huge thanks to my coach, for continuing to take me to the next level on and off the track, and my therapy team who continues to ensure I remain healthy throughout my long season.

Thanks also to Infinit Nutrition, ENERGYbits, and CEPCanada who have helped to elevate my training and performance this season.

Posted on September 26, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

